"I write only because there is a voice within me that will not be still." Sylvia Plath

Best Friends and Mugs

A recent development in our life has made me think of cups…

The cups on the left…as you can see…I have the most of…and tend to use most frequently…
We spend the most time with these cups…
But they are not my best cups…

The cup in the middle that says, “Canada” is the cup I personally use the most…
Tho’ it is a high quality mug, it is not my “best” cup…
It is the cups on the right which are my “best cups”
These are expensive cups (mugs) from Longaberger which were a gift that cost quite a bit…

If you look at these 2 cups, the one on the left is my daughter’s “favorite” mug (looks like an olive!) It came from the Salation Army Thrift Store and cost about $1. It is the one she grabs every time she grabs for a mug. But, it is not her “best” mug. Her “best” mug is actually currently quite far away from her safely packed in a box…

Then, there are these teacups we have. Dainty fragile tea cups that we bought, also, at the Salvation Army Thrift Store, but they are used for special “tea parties” with the children…

What the recent development in our life has made me think of is that often, starting in school, we have people we refer to as our “best friends”. Our “BFFs” right? These people are usually the people we hang out with the most.

But often, our “best”…most high quality and valuable friends…are ones we are far away from…ones we haven’t seen in a long time…ones we don’t even spend much time with…

Sometimes our “best” friends are people we see rarely…
Sometimes our “best friends” are people we only see on special occasions…
Sometimes, our “best friends” are people we never would expect…because they are not our “most” friends…
And, no matter what the quality…coffee is always better with a cup or mug… :P

This week, I have realized how many “best friends” we really have…

Thanks, everyone…

(This analogy could be so much deeper…but I think you get the point! Trouble is I thought of this like 2 days ago and rather than write it while I was “inspired” I waited till I took pics and it kinda’ takes the “zing” out of it then somehow…)

Tag Cloud

